I Did Not Lose My Marbles, Not Yet Anyway!

 

The title might have pulled you in to explore why is this blogger writing “I did not lose my marbles, not yet anyway!”

A lady wearing swimming goggles in her office. Oh boy, this lady has gone to the deep end, or has she?

Could it be a DARE or perhaps a BET of some sort, probably BET?

Well it all started yesterday as a normal day at home. Get up, shower, get ready, prepare breakfast, then school lunch, my smoothie and shake, then off to work. Well at least that is how our mornings typically go from Monday through Friday. But this time, my son comes to our bedroom and says,

“Mom, my eye is really hurting now.”

He has mentioned it few times and has been rubbing his right eye for few days now, actually 3. There was no outside appearance to indicate something is wrong. His eye was not red, did not appear to look bad at all, did not look like stye (which he had them before) or pink eye. I was clueless as to what is going on. As a mom I also know that my son would not pulling a trick to NOT to go to school, as this child of mine adores schools. This is a kid who hates summer as he is out of school. I can see him being a STUDENT forever and ever.

Anyway, we get ready and I take him to see his pediatrician. She was not able to determine the cause either. I am even more puzzled. She recommends seeing an optometrist in the building. She calls and gets us right in, more like 30-40 minutes later, but we did not have an appointment so we were willing to wait as long as they can squeeze us in.

He gets examined and doctor says he has to perform a tiny surgical procedure to remove a foreign object from his eye. Wow, I was relieved that is an object and not something else, more serious. All that was done and he goes home for resting, reading and math work as he could not go to school.

 

Everything is going well. He is resting, we are putting ointment as doctor prescribed, but it is Wednesday evening and for those of you not familiar with our ROUTINE, Wednesday nights are CLIMBING NIGHTS, including Monday and Friday, occasionally Saturday. My son loves, adores climbing and he has gone to National Championship two times already.

He is only 11 years old, but has a climbing career ahead of him. I know this! It is his true passion. And each year he is getting better and better. You can review 1st National Bouldering Championship in Salt Lake City. Facebook link. Blog link.

He is very passionate and serious about climbing, does not ever miss a training session, only if he is running a fever, but that has not stopped him in the past. Only when parents SAY NO.

It’s almost time to go to practice and his parents threw in a wrench into his perfectly planned evening. We realized that the gym is not a perfect place (dusty, dirty, chalk, all kinds of particles are floating around) after a small eye surgery, but we were willing to let him go with one CONDITION. Why do parents always have to have a condition? Only if you…condition…do this!

Our condition was to wear his swimming goggles to prevent chalk and particles to get into his eye. As you can imagine, he had a fit about this idea. We ended up having 30 min discussion explaining why we think he should do it and that we do not want to get an infection or cause other UNNECESSARY complications. We drove to the gym, I spoke with one of his coaches to ask others not to make fun of him.

My son is saying to us but

“Mom, I will look like an IDIOT!”

No son “You are showing your strength, determination and that you are smart; that you care about your well being and your eye health. If those in the class have anything to say to you how ridiculous you look then they are the ones LAME. Just go in there and have fun. Use this as advantage to have fun. If they ask you, why, just smile…It will make them crazy to not know why you are doing it.”

So we go through various iterations of back and forth. At the end, I give him timer, 30 seconds to decide, go inside of the gym and own it or go home with us, miss practice and feel guilt. “It’s up to you son”. There are many other people and kids out there with debilitating deformations on their bodies and they still do things and enjoy life. You get to wear this for 2 hours and you are done. Wash hands, come home and BE PROUD.

His choice was to OWN it and live up to it. He stayed and did his duty.

In the end, after I had picked him up, he was smiling and he confessed that his REACTION was a tad bit exaggerated. Actually, he said it was a lot exaggerated.

As I had wrote in my blog yesterday, that every day is an opportunity to teach him something. In this case I was teaching him to be STRONG, OWN IT and DO IT and not to worry about others JUDGING YOU or RIDICULING YOU. People will judge even the most holiest person on the planet.

So you might be guessing why I was wearing my goggles today in the office today?

The new Sabina, improved is OWNING it every time she commits to something or someone. So during our 30 min discussion and reasoning as to why I promised my son that I would too OWN IT and put on the swimming goggles for 2 hours as that was the length of his training last night.

Swimming Goggles
Swimming Goggles – Lesson Applied Project

 

By doing this I have found out that it was really TON of fun to do this project this morning and have people laugh at the instance they saw me. Some laughed and others did not even pay attention which tells me those individuals were stressed and need to relax or start practicing mindfulness.

Teach your kids by showing them examples through every day activities. Each day could be a lesson if you think hard enough and start paying attention to it.

 

“Use each day as another lesson in life” by Sabina Bunic or better yet, follow the quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson

” Life is a succession of lessons which must be lived to be understood.”

Waldo Quote Life Lessons Goggles Project

Sharing is Caring, please share this blog if you feel inspired, if you made you giggle, if it made you proud, or whatever emotion you might have experienced while reading it.


 

Happy Healing,

Cheers to Better, Stronger and Brighter You

Coach Sabina

Categories Kids Stuff, Life Stories

Leave a comment